Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Terms and Definitions
UAS- Unmanned Aerial System
UAV- Unmanned Aerial Vehicle, legacy term
Drones and the Future of Armed Conflict by
Call Number: KZ 6687 .D766 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-10
During the past decade, armed drones have entered the American military arsenal as a core tactic for countering terrorism. When coupled with access to reliable information, they make it possible to deploy lethal force accurately across borders while keeping one's own soldiers out of harm's way. The development of drone use capacity across dozens of countries increases the need for global standards on the use of these weapons to assure that their deployment is strategically wise and ethically and legally sound.
Encyclopedia of Military Science by
Call Number: REF U24 .E526 2013 Vol. 1-4
Publication Date: 2013
This new Encyclopedia provides a comprehensive, ready-reference on the organization, traditions, training, purpose and functions of today's military. Entries include coverage of the duties, responsibilities and authority of military personnel and an understanding of strategies and tactics of the modern military and how they interface with political, social, legal, economic and technological factors.
The UAV Question and Answer Book by
Call Number: UG1242 .D7 L684 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
It is clear that unmanned aerial systems are going to have an increasing impact both on the battlefield and on commercial air operations. UAVs or Unmanned Aerial Vehicles have already become a vital part of the United States military arsenal and they are finding new applications in civilian life every day. This book is intended to provide a quick overview of what military and commercial UAVs are, how they're being used, how they operate and what impact they may have on the present and future.
Introduction to UAV Systems by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
A comprehensive introduction to all of the elements of a complete Unmanned Aircraft System (UAS). It addresses the air vehicle, mission planning and control, several types of mission payloads, data links and how they interact with mission performance, and launch and recovery concepts. This book provides enough information to encourage a student to learn more; to provide a specialist with a basic appreciation of the technical issues that drive other parts of the system and interact with their specialty; or to help a program manager understand system-level tradeoffs and know what questions to ask.
Military Robots and Drones by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
This book provides an insightful introduction to the most important field of military innovation for the 21st century; robotic and drone weaponry. * A chronology of important events in robotic technology * A detailed bibliography on the latest sources related to this innovative technology
"Apache-UAV teaming combines 'best capabilities of man, machine'" By: David Vergun
Association of the United States Army
"These are the drones you are looking for: Manned-Unmanned Teaming and the U.S. Army." by Richard Lim
"Drones: What are they and how do they work?"
"Spies that Fly: A Timeline of UAVs."
Center for the Study of the Drone at Bard College
An interdisciplinary research institution that examines the novel and complex opportunities and challenges presented by unmanned technologies in both the military and civilian sphere.
International Security Data Site
Database of UAV strikes. Primarily a good source for images.
The New York Times
News about predator drones and unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.
Smithsonian National Air and Space
Descriptions of six modern military UAVs that represent a variety of missions and technologies.
Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium
On network you will not need to log in. Off network you will need your Nason Library card number.
U.S. Army Aviation Technical Library
The Aviation Technical Library is a mission support activity serving the U.S. Army Aviation Center of Excellence and supports Army Aviation warfighters around the world. The library provides in-depth academic and technical library reference support, research assistance and interlibrary loan service to all active duty military and civilian personnel at USAACE. Army Aviation personnel world-wide also can request information and assistance through email.