The Moro War, Shirley Alder, AC 002287. This paper shows how the US Army subjugated the Moros in the Southern Phillippines from 1899-1913. It shows how the US Army began to use Filipinos in the Army and how the Filipinos eventually became the Army and forces of law and order.
The CIA World Factbook contains similar material and is freely available online, but Nations of the World includes a business directory, banking hours, and transportation information; a useful ready-reference source for reliable country information not quickly available elsewhere
This book fills a vacuum for readers who wish to learn about the countries of South-East Asia. Recent years have seen a number of important developments all of which are covered here. With the global climate becoming more uncertain and the threat of terrorism spilling over, this book will aid readers' knowledge of this region by addressing its historical past and political future.
Indonesia and the southern Philippines have been particularly vulnerable to penetration by anti-American Islamic terrorist groups. One such network, Jemaah Islamiyah, is known to have assisted two of Al Qaeda's Sep 11, 2001 hijackers and is suspected of plotting attacks against Western targets, including the Oct 12, 2002 bombing in Bali, Indonesia. Some analysts fear that the Bali attack may represent a shift in tactics, from targeting Western military and government installations to focusing on "softer" targets such as tourist resorts, Western business, and schools serving Westerners.
This book is with a contemporary focus, author, Dr. Max Gross's purpose is to use history to explain today's Islamic insurgencies in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, and the Philippines and to offer perspectives for the future. Muslim Archipalego's unique contribution is that it brings together in one reference a mass of information on the insurgencies in Southeast Asia.The country accounts are detailed and thorough as to events, organizations, dates, and participants.The chronological context provides Dr. Gross the opportunity to give insights about historical casualty. His accounting highlights the interaction of the insurgencies within Southeast Asia and their international connection outside the region.
US Energy Information Administration's data includes production / consumption of oil natural gas, electricity, CO2 emissions, and imports and exports for all fuels.
Information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.
Interactively explore the Landsat archive, search for specific images based on area of interest, acquisition date, or cloud cover. Compare image features and view changes through time.
At The World Bank site you can graph, map and compare more than 1,000 time series indicators from the World Development Indicators. The Data Catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports and other resources.
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Nuclear Threat Initiative's country profiles cover nuclear, chemical, biological, and missile programs, in-depth information on relevant nonproliferation treaties and regimes, and more.
The Center’s 220 full-time staff and large network of affiliated scholars conduct research and analysis and develop policy initiatives that look to the future and anticipate change.
GTD is an open-source database with information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015. Includes systematic data on domestic and international terrorist incidents and now includes more than 150,000 cases
SSI conducts strategic research and analysis and serves as a bridge to the wider strategic community with analysis, reports, newsletters, papers and more.
Nations of the World by 
A Short History of South-East Asia by 
Terrorism in Southeast Asia by 
A Muslim Archipelago: Islam and Politics in Southeast Asia by