MI Library Home: Battle CENTCOM: Tarin Kowt

Search for articles, ebooks, and more

Search or browse for ejournals

Search:

Browse by letter:

Search the library's knowledge centers

Revolutionary War: The MI Library supports the Army's 250th Birthday and commemorates the events of the Revolutionary War

H2F Collection: Introducing the MI Library's H2F Collection.

New Look, New Books!: Stop by the library to check out our new spaces and new books.

Alternate Terms & Spellings

Tarinkot
Tarin Kowt

Basic Information

"At Tarin Kowt, the 11 members of U.S. Special Forces A-team 574, with a few dozen Afghani fighters, called in airstrikes to defeat a convoy of hundreds of Taliban forces on their way to attack the village where Hamid Karzai was based. It was a pivotal battle, and a crushing psychological blow for the Taliban." From PBS Frontline.

Books

Cases in intelligence analysis : structured analytic techniques in action by Sarah Miller Beebe (Editor); Randolph H. Pherson
Call Number: JF 1525 .I6 B44 2015
Each case begins with a set of "Key Questions" that frame the case. The case narrative offers background and context (and is built from declassified and open source materials) and ends with a final "Structured Analytic Techniques in Action" section where readers can apply one or more of the SATs to see what insights can be derived. The book is accompanied by extensive teaching support materials for adopting instructors, including assessment rubrics, notes about what other SATs can be used, lesson plans, answer keys, and correlation guides to other relevant books.
The Only Thing Worth Dying For by Eric Blehm
Call Number: DS371.412 .B544 2010
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
The author exposes the realities of unconventional warfare and nation-building in Afghanistan in this chronicle of one of the most important military mission in the early days of the Global War on Terror--ODA 574--wherein a Special Forces team infiltrated the mountains of southern Afghanistan, fomented a tribal revolt, and forced the Taliban to surrender.

Public Open Source Databases

Center for a New American Security (CNAS)
CNAS is an independent, bipartisan, nonprofit organization that develops strong, pragmatic, and principled national security and defense policies.
Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
The Center’s 220 full-time staff and large network of affiliated scholars conduct research and analysis and develop policy initiatives that look to the future and anticipate change.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
The largest central resource for DoD and government-funded research, reports and papers.
Global Terrorism Database (GTD)
GTD is an open-source database with information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015. Includes systematic data on domestic and international terrorist incidents and now includes more than 150,000 cases
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Resources in the HSDL cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated.
RAND Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution dedicated to high-quality and objective research and analysis and with sophisticated analytical tools.
Strategic Studies Institute (SSI)
SSI conducts strategic research and analysis and serves as a bridge to the wider strategic community with analysis, reports, newsletters, papers and more.

Battle CENTCOM

MI Library Quick Links

LIBRARY HOME PAGE

COURSE KNOWLEDGE CENTERS

TOPIC KNOWLEDGE CENTERS

COMMAND KNOWLEDGE CENTERS

LOCAL ITEM CATALOG

COMBINED DATABASE AND CATALOG SEARCH

DIGITAL RESOURCES

RESEARCH SUPPORT TICKET

MI PROFESSIONAL READING

Military Papers