Analyzes the German occupation of Albania during World War II, rectifying a half century of amnesia and mythmaking by Marxist and nationalist histories and increasing understanding of the relationship between the Third Reich and wartime Albania. Includes b&w historical photos. Fischer is a professor of history at Indiana University-Purdue University. - Book News, Inc.
This is the first full account of a country that, following decades of isolation, has undergone unprecedented changes to its political system: the collapse of communism, the progression to multi-party elections and the upheaval that followed the March 1997 uprising. Miranda Vickers traces the history of the Albanian people from the Ottoman period to the formation of the Albanian Communist Party. Newly revised for this paperback edition,The Albanians has now been updated to cover the crisis in Kosovo that led to the first "Western" war in Europe since 1945.
The CIA World Factbook contains similar material and is freely available online, but Nations of the World includes a business directory, banking hours, and transportation information; a useful ready-reference source for reliable country information not quickly available elsewhere
Albania stands today as one of the poorest and most ignored countries in Europe. The authors provide us with an analysis of how the moral, religious, economic, political and cultural identity of the Albanian people is being redefined, and leave no question that the future of Albania is inextricably linked to the future of the Balkans as a whole.
US Energy Information Administration's data includes production / consumption of oil natural gas, electricity, CO2 emissions, and imports and exports for all fuels.
Information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.
Interactively explore the Landsat archive, search for specific images based on area of interest, acquisition date, or cloud cover. Compare image features and view changes through time.
The Center’s 220 full-time staff and large network of affiliated scholars conduct research and analysis and develop policy initiatives that look to the future and anticipate change.
GTD is an open-source database with information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015. Includes systematic data on domestic and international terrorist incidents and now includes more than 150,000 cases
SSI conducts strategic research and analysis and serves as a bridge to the wider strategic community with analysis, reports, newsletters, papers and more.
Albania at War, 1939-1945 by 
The Albanians by 
Nations of the World by 
Albania by