Approximately 150 entries, each covering an extremist group or terrorist organisation, make this text a comprehensive encyclopedia of contemporary subversion. Information includes history, philosophy, and organisation of the group.
This accessible and deeply informed book examines the threat that Islamic extremists pose to America and provides a balanced discussion of the link between Iraq and the war on terror. Explaining the basics of Islam and guiding the reader through the intricacies of each significant fundamentalist group, the Palmers answer key questions: Who are the Muslim extremists and how do they fit within the broader context of the Islamic religion? What is their war plan and how do they operate? Who are their allies and what are their weaknesses? What is the experience of Israel, the Islamic world, and the United States in fighting extremists? How can they be defeated? Now in a thoroughly revised and updated edition, the book includes new chapters on Hamas, the Iraqi clones of Hizbullah-including Sadr-and the Islamic government in Turkey.
The Center’s 220 full-time staff and large network of affiliated scholars conduct research and analysis and develop policy initiatives that look to the future and anticipate change.
GTD is an open-source database with information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015. Includes systematic data on domestic and international terrorist incidents and now includes more than 150,000 cases
SSI conducts strategic research and analysis and serves as a bridge to the wider strategic community with analysis, reports, newsletters, papers and more.
A weekly international news and business publication, offering reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts.
New America’s International Security Program is focused on providing evidence-based analysis of international security issues, including the rise of political Islam, U.S. counterterrorism operations, and cyber warfare. This data site houses all of the databases that the program has compiled in its effort to bring greater transparency to such issues. They are maintained and updated on a regular basis.
For more than a decade, the IPT has investigated the operations, funding, activities and front groups of Islamic terrorist and extremist groups in the United States and around the world.
Updated every morning and throughout the day, RCD culls and publishes the best commentary, news, polling data, and links to important resources from all points of the political compass and covering important issues of the day.
The Small Wars Journal facilitates the exchange of information among practitioners, thought leaders, and students of Small Wars (insurgencies, terrorist campaign, guerrilla operations), in order to advance knowledge and capabilities in the field.
Extremist Groups Information for Students
Islamic Extremism by