MI Library Home: Groups CENTCOM: Jamaat-al-Tabligh

Search for articles, ebooks, and more

Search or browse for ejournals

Search:

Browse by letter:

Search the library's knowledge centers

Revolutionary War: The MI Library supports the Army's 250th Birthday and commemorates the events of the Revolutionary War

H2F Collection: Introducing the MI Library's H2F Collection.

New Look, New Books!: Stop by the library to check out our new spaces and new books.

Basic Information

A transnational pacifist religious movement on the fringes of numerous terrorism investigations. Tablighi Jamaat's role as a springboard to terrorist organizations has been questioned several times but there is no evidence that the Tabligh Jamaat deliberately act as a recruiting arm for Islamic militant organizations.

Founder: Muhammad Ilyas
Regions with significant populations: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, United Kingdom, South Africa, Germany, Krygyzstan, Sri Lanka, France, United States
Religion: Sunni Islam
Offshoot of Deobandi movement

eBooks

Unholy Wars by John K. Cooley
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
This book narrates the course and the consequences of a strange love affair which went disastrously wrong: the alliance, during the second half of the twentieth century, between the United States of America and some of the most conservative and fanatical followers of Islam.

Public Open Source Databases

Center for a New American Security (CNAS)
CNAS is an independent, bipartisan, nonprofit organization that develops strong, pragmatic, and principled national security and defense policies.
Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
The Center’s 220 full-time staff and large network of affiliated scholars conduct research and analysis and develop policy initiatives that look to the future and anticipate change.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
The largest central resource for DoD and government-funded research, reports and papers.
Global Terrorism Database (GTD)
GTD is an open-source database with information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015. Includes systematic data on domestic and international terrorist incidents and now includes more than 150,000 cases
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Resources in the HSDL cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated.
RAND Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution dedicated to high-quality and objective research and analysis and with sophisticated analytical tools.
Strategic Studies Institute (SSI)
SSI conducts strategic research and analysis and serves as a bridge to the wider strategic community with analysis, reports, newsletters, papers and more.

Terrorism - Public News + Media Sites

Council on Foreign Relations. Terrorism and Counterterrorism.
Articles, op-eds, links to resources.
Defense One
Defense One delivers news, breaking analysis and ideas on the topics and trends in U.S. defense and national security.
The Economist
A weekly international news and business publication, offering reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts.

Global Terrorism Index (2016)
The GTD is considered to be the most comprehensive dataset on terrorist activity globally and has codified over 140,000 terrorist incidents.

International Security Data Site
New America’s International Security Program is focused on providing evidence-based analysis of international security issues, including the rise of political Islam, U.S. counterterrorism operations, and cyber warfare. This data site houses all of the databases that the program has compiled in its effort to bring greater transparency to such issues. They are maintained and updated on a regular basis.
The Investigative Project on Terrorism
For more than a decade, the IPT has investigated the operations, funding, activities and front groups of Islamic terrorist and extremist groups in the United States and around the world.
Journalist's Resource. Terrorism.
Open-access site that curates scholarly studies and reports.
Journal of Terrorism Research
The aim of this Journal is to provide a space for academics and counter-terrorism professionals to publish work focused on the study of terrorism.
National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START)
A consortium of researchers dedicated to improving the understanding of the human causes and consequences of terrorism.
New York Times. Terrorism.
Index of articles on terrorism and links to resources.
Real Clear Defense
Updated every morning and throughout the day, RCD culls and publishes the best commentary, news, polling data, and links to important resources from all points of the political compass and covering important issues of the day.
Small Wars Journal
The Small Wars Journal facilitates the exchange of information among practitioners, thought leaders, and students of Small Wars (insurgencies, terrorist campaign, guerrilla operations), in order to advance knowledge and capabilities in the field.
Stanford University. Mapping Militant Organizations.
Profiles and timelines maps.

Groups CENTCOM

MI Library Quick Links

LIBRARY HOME PAGE

COURSE KNOWLEDGE CENTERS

TOPIC KNOWLEDGE CENTERS

COMMAND KNOWLEDGE CENTERS

LOCAL ITEM CATALOG

COMBINED DATABASE AND CATALOG SEARCH

DIGITAL RESOURCES

RESEARCH SUPPORT TICKET

MI PROFESSIONAL READING

Alternate Terms and Spellings

Social Media

Terrorism - Gov + Mil Sites